CMIR logo

Be Recognized as an Investment Recovery Professional! Get your CMIR Certification

The Power of Proven Expertise

Take a close look at your business card. What does it say about you? Can it validate your experience and expertise as an IR professional? No—not unless you have earned your CMIR certification.

The CMIR designation provides you with the credential that proves you have achieved the highest level of professional standards, knowledge, and expertise in IR.  It could mean career advancement in a fast-growing and dynamic industry. Savvy employers understand that a certified professional is their best investment for staying ahead of sustainability and compliance opportunities and challenges.

Join the other IR professionals have earned the CMIR designation. It’s a challenging study and exam process testing candidates on their highest standards of current knowledge, expertise, and professionalism.

Certification exams are given at each Investment Recovery Association Conference and Trade Show and occasionally throughout the year at other locations. Below are requirements for CMIR Certification:

Certified Manager of Investment Recovery Personal Data Form
CMIR shaking hands

Requirements for CMIR Certification:

  • Experience in the investment recovery profession for three or more years.
  • Acceptable in character, ability, and reputation.
  • Pledged in writing to adhere to the Code of Ethics.
  • Developed 35 points from your Personal Data Form.
  • Pass written exams proving a working knowledge of the profession.
Available from Amazon:

The Investment Recovery Handbook. Adding Value to the Supply Chain.

A definitive 360-page reference for those who manage corporate surplus assets. This book provides a clear means to appropriately value and market those no-longer-needed items in the most cost-effective and profitable manner.

Become a CMIR Fellow

The CMIR Fellow is awarded to an individual who has been an active member of the Investment Recovery Association and has had life experience in the investment recovery profession for a minimum of 20 years. The CMIR Fellow must also contribute substantially to the professional development of others in the Association.

Since 2003, when the Board of Directors approved this distinction, there have been just six individuals who have achieved this high merit; Bill Yerkey (2004), Dennis Knutz (2004), Paul Wengert (2006), Michael Rhodes (2012), Todd Thompson (2015), and Ron Brooks (2015) .

There is an extensive list of criteria for consideration and a separate nominating form for those who wish to have their submission reviewed by the Investment Recovery Association Board. If you are interested in the nominating and selection process for a CMIR Fellowship designation, please contact the association office at (816) 561-5323